Understanding the NIST Cybersecurity Framework

One of the most widely used NIST security standard is the NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF).

This internationally recognized framework offers voluntary guidance, based on existing standards, guidelines, and practices for organizations to better manage and reduce cybersecurity risk. It provides companies with an easy-to-understand common language for talking about cybersecurity risk, no matter where they are on the org chart – from the server room to the board room.

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework identifies five core functions:

  1. Identify
  2. Protect
  3. Detect
  4. Respond
  5. Recover

The framework describes desired outcomes that are understandable by everyone, applies to any kind of risk management, defines the entire breath of cybersecurity, and spans both prevention and reaction.


See how AlgoSec can help you meet NIST Cybersecurity Standards. Check out these resources.


Firewalls Ablaze? Put Out Network Security Audit & Compliance Fires

The growing body of regulations and standards forces enterprises to put considerable emphasis on compliance verified by ad hoc and regular auditing of security policies and control...

The Firewall Audit Checklist

Six Best Practices for simplifying firewall auditing and compliance, and reducing risk.


Regulations and compliance for the data center – A Day in the Life

The company has a hybrid network – multiple firewalls spread across a physical data center, Cisco ACI and Amazon Web Services. Each platform is protected by its own security cont...

Choose a better way to manage your network